Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Harrison Holt Riddleberger Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 R44 and Mss. Acc. 2003.60
Scope and Contents
This collection contains letters and other papers, 1872-1902, of H. H. Riddleberger (1844-1890) of Woodstock, Virginia who retained the titles of member of the House of Delegates, 1871-1875; State Senator, 1879- 1882; and U.S. Senator, 1883-l889. Among the correspondents are: William Mahone, William E. Cameron, Winfield S. Hancock, Roscoe Conkling, Robert Toombs, Fitz-John Porter, John W. Daniel, and John Goode. There are letters from Riddleberger to his wife Emma Belew Riddleberger and to...
Dates:
1872-1902
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tazewell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 T19
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1838-1979. Business records and letters of the Tazewell family of Norfolk, VA, chiefly of Gov. Littleton Waller Tazewell, John Nivison Tazewell, Sally A. Tazewell, Ella Wickham Tazewell and Louisa Nivison Tazewell. Includes are account balances, property inventory lists, stock and bond certificate lists, tax collection receipts, payment receipts and personal correspondence concerning a book about Littleton Waller Tazewell. Also includes are a newspaper article, 1978, about the...
Dates:
1838-1978; Majority of material found in 1860-1870
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group A
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates:
1716-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center